Tutorials

Blocking: Part 2!

For part 2 I will be wet blocking my latest triangular shawl FO. It is knit out of Yarn Garden’s Sock yarn, which is 75% SW Blue Faced Leicester and 25% Nylon in the Summer Glow colour way. The pattern is Whispering Pines by Molly Klatt. I used 4mm needles on an 80cm cord and it created a lovely fabric with plenty of positive ease in it. The pattern is delightful, a beautiful textured body with lace detailing on the bottom edge, it knits up quickly and is very easy to memorise the repeats throughout!

For many knitters, blocking is part and parcel of the knitting process, however, we were all learning once so, if you are a ‘newbie’ knitter I do hope you find this blog post useful. If you’re a dab hand at ye olde blocking, I hope you enjoy watching the process from start to finish.

I put a post up on Instagram asking knitters if they preferred to sew in their ends before or after blocking, the majority said after blocking, which is my preference too, however, I strongly believe everyone has their own way. In knitting, for me, there is no ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ way to do things such as this, that’s the beauty of creating, we all have artistic freedom and that’s a wonderful thing to have!

I have pictures each step of the process below:

 

Before the blocking!

What I used:

 

Wool Soak (from a FiberShare package)
img_6304
KnitPro T-Pins
Towels (one for laying the shawl on whilst it dried and one to help with excess water.

So first, I filled a clean bowl with warm water, obviously I didn’t want to shock the fibers so made sure it was not too hot or too cold. I put the soak in second and gave it a little swish to make some bubbles, because no matter how old you are, it’s fun to make bubbles!!

img_6308
My bubbles!!!!!!

Then I gently submerged the entire shawl in the water, being careful not to aggravate it too much.

img_6310
This was an oddly satisfying part of the process – no going back now!

I researched the average length of time to soak your knits for and two suggestions kept coming up, 15 minutes and 30 minutes. I opted for 30 minutes, just to be on the safe side and to give plenty of time for the stitches to fully relax in the water.

img_6311
So while that happened, I did what any self-respecting knitter does at a time like this, I made a cup of tea and got out my sock knitting!

Now it was the fun part, I carefully lifted out my shawl and gently squeezed the water out. Mindful of not stretching the shawl or wringing it out. This, I understand, is a big no-no in wet blocking.

This is where the first towel comes in, I lay it down on one towel and began to roll it up inside. This was to help get any excess water out and reduce the drying time as well. It was quite a warm day and I was in my glass-roof conservatory so I knew it would be dry in no time at all!

IMG_6317
Think of it like Sushi!

Once I was certain it had got the majority of the excess water out (after a few presses with my hands), I unrolled it and placed it on the dry towel. I used my dining table because it was big enough and I didn’t want to put it on the floor, especially with a cat around! Then I took my T-Pins and pinned it, starting with the straight top, making sure both sides were equal length and then moved onto the lace edging, placing t-pins as equally apart as I could.

It didn’t take too long to dry, this room gets pretty warm on a sunny day, it dry within 2 hours and ready to wear!

Once it was dry and I was happy with the size, I sewed in my ends to finish it off. And now, I just need to finish finish finish, and in the Knitmore Girls world that means taking pictures and adding it to the project page on Ravelry 🙂

I do love this shawl, and no doubt I will be knitting it up again! (My mum has already requested her second Whispering Pines shawl in a teal colour).

And so, a shawl was born……

 

 

Leave a Reply

